"Dark, unreasonable fear can twist and grind an individual ... It is necessary to dig deep within oneself to discover that hidden grain of steel ... called will." -Ryan Shay

 My sophomore year, the best year of my running career, our coach awarded me the "Most Inspirational" award. At first I was a little disappointed. It seemed to me like one of those throwaway awards that you gave as a consolation prize. But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that I actually won a great award. Cross Country is 95% mental. You need the willpower to keep running. You can't have a single sliver of doubt. You have to trust yourself fully. If you doubt yourself for a second, you will never be as good as you could be.

My favorite shirt to go out and run in is a bright, highlighter yellow, Nike shirt, that says "Motivate. Dominate." on the front of it. Aside from being a nice, bright beacon telling the new runners to "RUN THIS WAY", it has a good message. You have to be motivated to dominate. If you give up at the first sign of trouble, you'll never live up to your full potential. You gotta be willing to go through the worst of the worst and keep going and get to your goal.

So anyways, that's today's blog. And I gotta give credit where credit is due: I found this video, and it compelled me to write this, so please please please please please go check out the video, I think they did a really good job with it. :D
Emily Powell
8/30/2011 11:04:28 am

I definitely wanted to go on a really long run after i read this post. haha:) and no worries. we're gonna dominate this year in track. i refuse to let sophomore year be my peak. haha:)

ps i think something weird happened with the comment thing. sorry about that.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    About Me

    "Learn to get in touch with the silence within yourself and know that everything in this life has a purpose."

    Archives

    February 2012
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011

    Categories

    All